From Texas Political Almanac

Jump to: navigation, search


Who & Where

Andrew Murr

District Outlook
On July 10, 2013, Rep. Hilderbran announced on the House floor that he would not be seeking re-election as State Representative. He is expected to announce plans to run statewide for Comptroller. Announced candidates to date are Rob Henneke and Karen Harris for the GOP nomination.

District Map

Population & Demographics

Total Pop. 18+ Pop. CVAP
Total 162,897 127,381 119,230
Anglo 65.9% 70.2% 73.9%
Hispanic 31.1% 26.8% 23.2%
Afr-Am 1.7% 1.5% 1.5%
Other 1.6% 1.7%
Asian 0.4%

2014 Election Analysis

108,464 Registered Voters
22,495 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
45,860 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
US Senate John Cornyn 79.5% David Alameel 16.2%
Governor Greg Abbott 77.5% Wendy Davis 20.6%
Lt. Governor Dan Patrick 75.9% Leticia Van de Putte 21.1%
Attorney General Ken Paxton 77.4% Sam Houston 19.5%
Comptroller Glen Hegar 76.6% Mike Collier 19.1%
Land Commish George P. Bush 78.2% John Cook 17.3%
Ag. Commish Sid Miller 76.5% Jim Hogan 18.6%
RR Commish Ryan Sitton 75.8% Steve Brown 18.9%
Supreme Court Nathan Hecht 77.7% Bill Moody 18.9%
Supreme Court Jeff Brown 78.2% Lawrence Meyers 18.0%
Supreme Court Jeff Boyd 76.9% Gina Benavides 19.1%
Supreme Court Phil Johnson 87.9%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Bert Richardson 77.8% John Granberg 18.2%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Kevin Patrick Yeary 85.5%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals David Newell 87.5%
State Representative Andrew S. Murr 89.9%

May 27th Republican Runoff

Candidate Votes  %
Rob Henneke 6,100 39.4%
Andrew Murr 9,387 60.6%
Total Votes 15,487

March 4th Republican Primary

Candidate Votes  %
Karen Harris 5,880 24.1%
Rob Henneke 7,051 28.9%
Andrew Murr 10,089 41.3%
Tink Nathan 343 1.4%
Wayne Ramsay 1,073 4.4%
Total Votes 24,436

2012 Election Analysis

105,003 Registered Voters
21,216 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
68,369 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
U.S. President Mitt Romney 76.5% Barack Obama 22.3%
U.S. Senate Ted Cruz 74.5% Paul Sadler 22.5%
RR Commish Christi Craddick 74.9% Dale Henry 21.1%
Supreme Court Nathan Hecht 71.7% Michele Petty 23.7%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Sharon Keller 74.5% Keith Hampton 22.1%
State Representative Harvey Hilderbran 100.0%

2010 Election Analysis

106,904 Registered Voters
21,321 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
50,179 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
Governor Rick Perry 70.0% Bill White 26.3%
Lt. Governor David Dewhurst 77.2% Linda Chavez-Thompson 18.7%
Attorney General Greg Abbott 79.5% Barbara Radnofsky 17.7%
Comptroller Susan Combs 89.3%
Land Commish Jerry Patterson 77.0% Hector Uribe 19.2%
Ag. Commish Todd Staples 75.8% Hank Gilbert 19.8%
RR Commish David Porter 74.7% Jeff Weems 19.9%
Supreme Court Debra Lehrmann 74.6% Jim Sharp 21.7%
Supreme Court Paul Green 75.2% Bill Moody 20.8%
Supreme Court Eva Guzman 73.9% Blake Bailey 20.5%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Michael Keasler 75.8% Keith Hampton 20.5%


2011 Redistricting

2001 Redistricting

News Results

Freshman rep scores big during first Leg - Bandera County Courier
Freshman rep scores big during first LegBandera County CourierFreshman rep scores big during first Leg. By Judith Pannebaker BCC Editor. Photos by Judith Pannebaker Precinct 2 Commissioner Bobby Harris, right, spoke to Texas District 53 Representative Andrew Murr about water issues after Gary Johnston's recent ...
Smith raps on EPA, immigration & border security - Bandera County Courier
Smith raps on EPA, immigration & border securityBandera County CourierMembers of the Ranchers & Landowners Association of Texas sponsored a morning of political discourse on Saturday, July 18. Over 60 concerned citizens filed into the Silver Sage Great Room to hear legislative reports from Congressman Lamar Smith and ...
State Representative Murr Announces Grand Opening of Director Office in Kerrville - Mason County News
State Representative Murr Announces Grand Opening of Director Office in KerrvilleMason County NewsRepresentative Andrew Murr is pleased to announce the grand opening of his Kerrville District Office at 715 Water Street in downtown Kerrville. The public is invited to attend a ribbon-cutting ceremony and reception which will be held at the office on ...and more »


House Districts

District HD1, HD2, HD3, HD4, HD5, HD6, HD7, HD8, HD9, HD10, HD11, HD12, HD13, HD14, HD15, HD16, HD17, HD18, HD19, HD20, HD21, HD22, HD23, HD24, HD25, HD26, HD27, HD28, HD29, HD30, HD31, HD32, HD33, HD34, HD35, HD36, HD37, HD38, HD39, HD40, HD41, HD42, HD43, HD44, HD45, HD46, HD47, HD48, HD49, HD50, HD51, HD52, HD53, HD54, HD55, HD56, HD57, HD58, HD59, HD60, HD61, HD62, HD63, HD64, HD65, HD66, HD67, HD68, HD69, HD70, HD71, HD72, HD73, HD74, HD75, HD76, HD77, HD78, HD79, HD80, HD81, HD82, HD83, HD84, HD85, HD86, HD87, HD88, HD89, HD90, HD91, HD92, HD93, HD94, HD95, HD96, HD97, HD98, HD99, HD100, HD101, HD102, HD103, HD104, HD105, HD106, HD107, HD108, HD109, HD110, HD111, HD112, HD113, HD114, HD115, HD116, HD117, HD118, HD119, HD120, HD121, HD122, HD123, HD124, HD125, HD126, HD127, HD128, HD129, HD130, HD131, HD132, HD133, HD134, HD135, HD136, HD137, HD138, HD139, HD140, HD141, HD142, HD143, HD144, HD145, HD146, HD147, HD148, HD149, HD150