From Texas Political Almanac

Jump to: navigation, search


Who & Where

Diego Bernal

District Outlook

District Map

Population & Demographics

Total Pop. 18+ Pop. CVAP
Total 175,674 135,763 117,430
Anglo 23.6% 27.4% 31.4%
Hispanic 70.6% 66.5% 62.7%
Afr-Am 4.6% 4.5% 4.4%
Other 2.0% 2.2%
Asian 0.5%

2015 Election Analysis

February 17th Runoff Special Election

Candidate Votes  %
Diego Bernal 5,170 63.7%
Nunzio Previtera 2,950 36.3%
Total Votes 8,120

January 6th Special Election

Candidate Votes  %
Melissa Aguillon 1,257 17.7%
Diego Bernal 3,372 47.5%
Roger V. Gary 103 1.5%
Paul Ingmundson 81 1.1%
Walter Martinez 780 11.0%
Nunzio Previtera 1,512 21.3%
Total Votes 7,105

2014 Election Analysis

90,541 Registered Voters
49,818 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
29,179 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
US Senate John Cornyn 42.0% David Alameel 52.8%
Governor Greg Abbott 37.5% Wendy Davis 60.5%
Lt. Governor Dan Patrick 33.7% Leticia Van de Putte 63.7%
Attorney General Ken Paxton 36.9% Sam Houston 58.4%
Comptroller Glen Hegar 36.4% Mike Collier 58.6%
Land Commish George P. Bush 41.1% John Cook 53.3%
Ag. Commish Sid Miller 36.6% Jim Hogan 56.7%
RR Commish Ryan Sitton 35.2% Steve Brown 57.1%
Supreme Court Nathan Hecht 39.7% Bill Moody 57.0%
Supreme Court Jeff Brown 39.8% Lawrence Meyers 56.6%
Supreme Court Jeff Boyd 35.9% Gina Benavides 60.4%
Supreme Court Phil Johnson 61.0%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Bert Richardson 40.7% John Granberg 55.2%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Kevin Patrick Yeary 56.9%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals David Newell 60.1%
State Representative Mike Villarreal 86.3%

2012 Election Analysis

85,979 Registered Voters
47,413 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
47,839 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
U.S. President Mitt Romney 36.7% Barack Obama 61.2%
U.S. Senate Ted Cruz 36.3% Paul Sadler 60.1%
RR Commish Christi Craddick 36.6% Dale Henry 57.8%
Supreme Court Nathan Hecht 34.2% Michele Petty 61.3%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Sharon Keller 36.6% Keith Hampton 60.2%
State Representative Mike Villarreal 87.5%

2010 Election Analysis

90,380 Registered Voters
48,675 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
29,476 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
Governor Rick Perry 37.7% Bill White 59.5%
Lt. Governor David Dewhurst 43.4% Linda Chavez-Thompson 52.5%
Attorney General Greg Abbott 49.1% Barbara Radnofsky 48.5%
Comptroller Susan Combs 72.2%
Land Commish Jerry Patterson 42.5% Hector Uribe 54.4%
Ag. Commish Todd Staples 42.5% Hank Gilbert 53.5%
RR Commish David Porter 40.4% Jeff Weems 53.6%
Supreme Court Debra Lehrmann 42.4% Jim Sharp 54.3%
Supreme Court Paul Green 42.8% Bill Moody 54.0%
Supreme Court Eva Guzman 45.4% Blake Bailey 50.8%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Michael Keasler 42.5% Keith Hampton 54.0%


2011 Redistricting

2001 Redistricting

News Results

San Antonio's nondiscrimination law safe for now - San Antonio Express-News (subscription)
San Antonio's nondiscrimination law safe for nowSan Antonio Express-News (subscription)Even so, the local NDO has already withstood several tests as it won overwhelming City Council support, its chief proponent said. State Rep. Diego Bernal, D-San Antonio, who advocated the ordinance while on council, said ?the books are closed on that.?.and more »
Q&A with Texas House District 123 Candidates: Diego Bernal - San Antonio Current (blog)
San Antonio Current (blog)
Q&A with Texas House District 123 Candidates: Diego BernalSan Antonio Current (blog)Some two weeks after mayoral candidate Mike Villarreal resigned from his seat in the Texas House of Representatives, former District 1 Councilman Diego Bernal and public relations consultant Melissa Aguillon, with their eyes on the Texas Legislature, ...
Bernal, Menendez win in runoff election - KSAT San Antonio
KSAT San Antonio
Bernal, Menendez win in runoff electionKSAT San AntonioSAN ANTONIO - Former San Antonio City Councilman Diego Bernal and State Rep. Jose Menendez, both Democrats, won their respective ... Trey Martinez Fischer for the District 26 seat in the Texas Senate. The seat was formerly held by Leticia Van de Putte, ...Bernal sails to victorySan Antonio Express-NewsSpecial Election Runoff ResultsTexas Public RadioMenendez, Bernal win in runoff electionmySanAntonio.comKXAN.com -Breitbart News -Texas Tribuneall 46 news articles »


House Districts

District HD1, HD2, HD3, HD4, HD5, HD6, HD7, HD8, HD9, HD10, HD11, HD12, HD13, HD14, HD15, HD16, HD17, HD18, HD19, HD20, HD21, HD22, HD23, HD24, HD25, HD26, HD27, HD28, HD29, HD30, HD31, HD32, HD33, HD34, HD35, HD36, HD37, HD38, HD39, HD40, HD41, HD42, HD43, HD44, HD45, HD46, HD47, HD48, HD49, HD50, HD51, HD52, HD53, HD54, HD55, HD56, HD57, HD58, HD59, HD60, HD61, HD62, HD63, HD64, HD65, HD66, HD67, HD68, HD69, HD70, HD71, HD72, HD73, HD74, HD75, HD76, HD77, HD78, HD79, HD80, HD81, HD82, HD83, HD84, HD85, HD86, HD87, HD88, HD89, HD90, HD91, HD92, HD93, HD94, HD95, HD96, HD97, HD98, HD99, HD100, HD101, HD102, HD103, HD104, HD105, HD106, HD107, HD108, HD109, HD110, HD111, HD112, HD113, HD114, HD115, HD116, HD117, HD118, HD119, HD120, HD121, HD122, HD123, HD124, HD125, HD126, HD127, HD128, HD129, HD130, HD131, HD132, HD133, HD134, HD135, HD136, HD137, HD138, HD139, HD140, HD141, HD142, HD143, HD144, HD145, HD146, HD147, HD148, HD149, HD150