From Texas Political Almanac

Jump to: navigation, search


Who & Where

Matt Rinaldi

District Outlook
HD115 was among the districts modified during the 2013 Special Session on redistricting. Incumbent, Bennett Ratliff was accused of trying to draw out a possible primary opponent from the 2012 primary, Matt Rinaldi. Despite the redraw, Rinaldi has filed to challenge Rep. Ratliff for the 2014 GOP nomination in the newly drawn district.

District Map

Population & Demographics

Total Pop. 18+ Pop. CVAP-10 CVAP-11
Total 166,734 125,470 96,210 97,880
Anglo 44.2% 48.2% 62.1% 61.5%
Hispanic 23.6% 20.6% 14.2% 14.2%
Afr-Am 11.7% 11.2% 12.1% 11.9%
Other 21.0% 20.4%
Asian 10.1% 10.7%

2014 Election Analysis

89,403 Registered Voters
11,112 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
30,776 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
US Senate John Cornyn 61.1% David Alameel 34.9%
Governor Greg Abbott 57.5% Wendy Davis 40.9%
Lt. Governor Dan Patrick 55.9% Leticia Van de Putte 40.8%
Attorney General Ken Paxton 57.4% Sam Houston 39.4%
Comptroller Glen Hegar 57.3% Mike Collier 38.6%
Land Commish George P. Bush 60.5% John Cook 35.2%
Ag. Commish Sid Miller 58.8% Jim Hogan 36.5%
RR Commish Ryan Sitton 58.3% Steve Brown 36.5%
Supreme Court Nathan Hecht 60.1% Bill Moody 36.8%
Supreme Court Jeff Brown 60.1% Lawrence Meyers 36.6%
Supreme Court Jeff Boyd 58.6% Gina Benavides 37.8%
Supreme Court Phil Johnson 77.3%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Bert Richardson 59.8% John Granberg 36.6%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Kevin Patrick Yeary 75.3%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals David Newell 77.0%
State Representative Matt Rinaldi 57.1% Paul K. Stafford 39.5%

March 4th Republican Primary

Candidate Votes  %
Bennett Ratliff 4,075 49.4%
Matt Rinaldi 4,167 50.6%
Total Votes 8,242

2012 Election Analysis

88,127 Registered Voters
8,638 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
54,967 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
U.S. President Mitt Romney 55.4% Barack Obama 43.1%
U.S. Senate Ted Cruz 55.3% Paul Sadler 41.6%
RR Commish Christi Craddick 56.4% Dale Henry 38.8%
Supreme Court Nathan Hecht 53.7% Michele Petty 41.7%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Sharon Keller 55.0% Keith Hampton 41.4%
State Representative Bennett Ratliff 55.3% Mary Fabishak 41.4%
County Sheriff Kirk Launius 56.1% Lupe Valdez 43.9%
Tax Assessor Andrew Marcontell 55.0% John Ames 45.0%

July 31st Republican Primary Runoff

Candidate Votes  %
Steve Nguyen 4,404 48.1%
Bennett Ratliff 4,759 51.9%
Total Votes 9,163

May 29th Republican Primary

Candidate Votes  %
Lib Grimmett 278 3.2%
Steve Nguyen 3,081 35.0%
Andy Olivo 452 5.1%
Bennett Ratliff 2,644 30.1%
Matt Rinaldi 2,338 26.6%
Total Votes 8,793

2010 Election Analysis

84,217 Registered Voters
8,220 Spanish-Surnamed Registered Voters
31,234 Total Ballots

Contest Rep. Candidate R-% Dem. Candidate D-%
Governor Rick Perry 57.5% Bill White 39.8%
Lt. Governor David Dewhurst 64.8% Linda Chavez-Thompson 32.0%
Attorney General Greg Abbott 64.4% Barbara Radnofsky 33.4%
Comptroller Susan Combs 83.2%
Land Commish Jerry Patterson 64.5% Hector Uribe 32.4%
Ag. Commish Todd Staples 64.0% Hank Gilbert 32.8%
RR Commish David Porter 61.8% Jeff Weems 34.4%
Supreme Court Debra Lehrmann 64.5% Jim Sharp 32.8%
Supreme Court Paul Green 63.9% Bill Moody 33.3%
Supreme Court Eva Guzman 64.4% Blake Bailey 32.0%
Crt. of Criminal Appeals Michael Keasler 63.0% Keith Hampton 34.2%


2013 Redistricting

2011 Redistricting

2001 Redistricting

News Results

New Coppell office park will tip hat to city's past - WFAA
New Coppell office park will tip hat to city's pastWFAADeveloper Bennett Ratliff turned to Coppell to build a company headquarters for his consulting engineering group. "We moved here not knowing any of that history, and I went to visit my grandfather before he passed away, and he told me that he had been ...
Thomas Ratliff will not seek re-election to State Board of Education - Longview News-Journal
Longview News-Journal
Thomas Ratliff will not seek re-election to State Board of EducationLongview News-JournalHis brother, Republican Bennett Ratliff of Coppell, is a former state representative. Thomas Ratliff said he had no political office in his future sights. A lobbyist for several companies including Microsoft, he said he will continue pursuing that ...

2012 Election Map

  • Blue = precinct won by Democratic nominee for President, US Senate, or State Representative.
  • Red = precinct won by none of the above three Democratic nominees.
  • White = no votes.


House Districts

District HD1, HD2, HD3, HD4, HD5, HD6, HD7, HD8, HD9, HD10, HD11, HD12, HD13, HD14, HD15, HD16, HD17, HD18, HD19, HD20, HD21, HD22, HD23, HD24, HD25, HD26, HD27, HD28, HD29, HD30, HD31, HD32, HD33, HD34, HD35, HD36, HD37, HD38, HD39, HD40, HD41, HD42, HD43, HD44, HD45, HD46, HD47, HD48, HD49, HD50, HD51, HD52, HD53, HD54, HD55, HD56, HD57, HD58, HD59, HD60, HD61, HD62, HD63, HD64, HD65, HD66, HD67, HD68, HD69, HD70, HD71, HD72, HD73, HD74, HD75, HD76, HD77, HD78, HD79, HD80, HD81, HD82, HD83, HD84, HD85, HD86, HD87, HD88, HD89, HD90, HD91, HD92, HD93, HD94, HD95, HD96, HD97, HD98, HD99, HD100, HD101, HD102, HD103, HD104, HD105, HD106, HD107, HD108, HD109, HD110, HD111, HD112, HD113, HD114, HD115, HD116, HD117, HD118, HD119, HD120, HD121, HD122, HD123, HD124, HD125, HD126, HD127, HD128, HD129, HD130, HD131, HD132, HD133, HD134, HD135, HD136, HD137, HD138, HD139, HD140, HD141, HD142, HD143, HD144, HD145, HD146, HD147, HD148, HD149, HD150